top of page
Search

The Beauty Of Going Live.

Updated: Mar 29, 2021

Did you know that 80% of customers prefer live videos to blogs? There's something about the immediacy of live video that people just can't get enough of. I think it's even fair to say that being part of a live stream feels like you're in an exclusive club.


And I've had my fair share of hosting live events for clubs in multiple industries, ranging from live videos for automobile brands, fashion shows, lifestyle contests to even the good old-fashioned days of when I hosted on QVC and HSN.



What Do I Know About Going Live?


I spent most of my presenting career going live and continue to get asked to host live streams and coach others to do the same. Why? Because people want to feel a sense of connection with the content they choose to consume. They want to be part of the show.


But what sets a solid live apart from a weak one?


The truth is live video is simple to do. No post-production, no edits needed, no re-takes; it's literally a case of pressing record. There's only one problem: Live video is scary.


Hosting live video requires a certain mindset, skill, and enthusiasm for the unknown and unpredictable.


Here are my top tips for becoming great when going live.


The Mindset.


When I go live on camera, I am a bigger, larger, and more animated version of the "everyday" me. Why? Because every moment counts. Being present and reacting to the circumstances in the "now" is crucial. Your audience wants to feel as though they are in the same room as you. My background is in theater, and sometimes I liken live video to my days on stage. Still, then at times, I think it offers even more because of the capabilities of technology and the opportunities to chat directly to your audience. There is no longer the fourth wall; you are all in the same room through a camera lens portal. Pretty incredible when you think about it like that!


For that very reason, you need to be ready. You need to be prepared, but you also need to work with the unpredictable moments, the accidents, the mishaps, and the mistakes that make the live video so unique and special. Your mindset needs to be grounded, and you need to be able to react comfortably in your own way without feeling judged and always remain calm. You can control the sense of time when on camera as long as you let the viewers trust you, speak to them as though you trust them, and create a sense of respect from the get- go, Without the audience, there is no live audience so guide and speak to them throughout your journey when going live. Personalise moments, speak to them directly, and acknowledge the mistakes, you can't fool the camera, and you cannot fool your audience.


The Skill For Live


This is the section you have all been waiting for because what you want to know, is "Can I go live" and "Will I be good at it"


The answer is yes. But it will take practice. And lots of it.


Know your content. Don't over-rehearse or over script your pieces but have a clear intention, direction, and strategy for what it is you are doing. Have notes at hand but be ready to go with the flow. That is when the most amazing content is produced.


Utilise your flutters of energy and nerves and start to recognise how you can use them to your advantage when going live. Can you put your attention on someone else? The Viewer? The Guest? Nervous energy isn't a bad thing. You just have to know how to use it correctly.


Enthusiasm for the unknown.


I think I may have an advantage as I've never been one for the predictability. I like to take risks, do the unimaginable and always choose for the least favourable option? Why? Because I feel like the outcome of the story is always more memorable one. So when hosting live video, remember this…


"There is only so much you can control. And honestly, that is very little. But that is the beauty of going live"


If you embrace this, analyse the great live entertainers of the past, understand your customers' needs, and start going live, you are one your way to winning when it comes toa storytelling perspective.


But don't forget, as with everything, all forms of content come with trends. Live video is constantly adapting, shifting, and changing. The only way you will connect with your customer is to know what it is they want from live content today.


How I used to present on HSN and QVC 5 years ago is very different from the types of live video I make today. Know your market and create content that resonates with them.


For more information, advice, or suggestions on my preferred partners/ resources when going live feel free to reach out to me directly.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page